Salon with the Institute of (Im)Possible Subjects – Silhouettes: Migration, (Un)Documented, and Pedagogies

 

Silhouttes

This event is by invitation only. Please contact Dr. Fukushima at a.fukushima@utah.edu if you have questions or would like to be a part of this discussion. This event is being recorded. 

Purpose: The salons create a space for discussion, sharing, and connections. For this salon, I would love to invite all of us to be in a conversation regarding pedagogies, documentation and migration. Here, I recognize the current climate, and that when considering migration, documentation, and teaching, that we are not only discussing DACA, where migration and notions of documentation have a range of contested meanings. But, we are also recognizing that DACA, undocumented, and other forms of documentation have shaped our students lives, our own lives and pedagogues, and our communities (recognizing community is multifaceted and complex). Questions we seek to grapple with: What does it mean to teach / learn in the current moment on migration / emigration / immigration and transnational connections? What can be learned from the transnational/diasporic/migratory subject? What is currently being made invisible? How do you teach about migration? How does documentation, undocumented, and the dualities of legality/illegality emerge in the classroom and/or spaces of learning?

Format: The salon will be 90 minute recorded conversation. It will be edited then published to the Institute of (Im)Possible Subjects websites (Facebook, Twitter, WordPress, and our under construction edited multimedio web publication).

To begin our conversation, we could listen to Sonia Guiñansaca “Bursting of photographs after trying to squeeze out old memories”. https://soundcloud.com/pbsnewshour/sonia-guinansaca-reads-bursting-of-photographs-after-trying-to-squeeze-out-old-memories

Then we will discuss the works of Ruby Chacon.

When:

Salt Lake CityUTUSA*
MDT (UTC -6)
Tue, Oct 17, 2017, 10:00 am
San FranciscoCAUSA*
PDT (UTC -7)
Tue, Oct 17, 2017, 9:00 am
BostonMAUSA*
EDT (UTC -4)
Tue, Oct 17, 2017, 12:00 noon
SeoulSouth Korea
KST (UTC +9)
Wed, Oct 18, 2017, 1:00 am
BogotaColombia
COT (UTC -5)
Tue, Oct 17, 2017, 11:00 am
ManilaPhilippines
PHT (UTC +8)
Wed, Oct 18, 2017, 12:00 midn

Location in Salt Lake City

2130N Hoopes Seminar Room, Marriott Library, University of Utah.

For Silhouette’s Remote participants Call-in information

Tue, Oct 17, 2017 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM MDT

Please join my meeting from your computer, tablet or smartphone.

https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/947035901 

You can also dial in using your phone.

United States: +1 (872) 240-3311

Access Code: 947-035-901

First GoToMeeting? Let’s do a quick system check: https://link.gotomeeting.com/system-check

About folks invited to be in conversation:

Leticia Alvarez (Utah)
Crystal Baik (California)
Dalida Maria Benfield (Massachussetts)
Ruby Chacon (California/Utah)
Jose Manuel Cortez (Utah)
Cindy Cruz (California)
Annie Isabel Fukushima (Utah)
Sarita Gaytan (Utah)
Juan Herrera (California)
Alonso Reyna  (Unconfirmed?) (Utah)

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s